IT&T Awards: The winners

By on

Over 300 members of the IT&T community attended a gala dinner at Sydney’s Town Hall on 4 December for AJB Publishing’s annual IT&T Awards.

Over 300 members of the IT&T community attended a gala dinner at Sydney's Town Hall on 4 December for AJB Publishing's annual IT&T Awards.

The awards covered 41 categories and recognised excellence in the provision of IT products and services in the Australian IT industry. Awards were voted for by IT professionals using an online voting form conducted by AC Nielsen.

The event was hosted by former 2DayFM DJ Greg 'Fleety' Fleet, with an after party at Darling Harbour's Homebar, which featured AJB's resident DJ Andy Jackson, a.k.a 'Jackster.'

The head judge of the IT&T awards, David Hutchins, said the awards recognised expertise, professionalism and major contributions made by organisations and individuals involved with business, IT and telecommunications.

Hutchins, who is also editor of AJB's executive magazine InformationWeek, said all of the winners impressed the judges with their ingenuity, innovation and commitment to doing better business.

'Ingenuity, innovation, commitment and professionalism are the hallmarks of the IT&T awards,' Hutchins said. 'Every winner, whether it's in the hardware, software, services, channel, or the hotly-contested user categories, are fine examples of technology being used to enable business success.

Winners in the user categories, such as Malcolm Barnes of Komatsu who took out the CIO Enterprise Award, and Peter Wilson (formerly in charge of technology at the Australian Tax Office) who was inducted into the IT&T hall of fame, are great examples of IT executives being very successful business leaders.

'The Marketing Department Group, which won the SMB of the Year, has made a multimillion dollar business, which is expanding through South East Asia, after having the courage and ingenuity to develop its Store Track system,' Hutchins said.

'The development combined much of the company's intellectual property with key customer requirements and feedback.

'The result is a system that facilitates The Marketing Department Group's commitment to customer service, its involvement with key clients, and is a business innovation whose return on investment has been made many times over. It's a great indication of Australian ingenuity providing an internationally competitive result.'

Hutchins said such ingenuity and innovation were the hallmarks of the IT&T awards, from AJB Publishing -- an entrepreneurial publishing house with titles for business executives such as InformationWeek, Computer Reseller News, and Windows for Professionals. AJB also produces successful consumer titles such as PC Authority and the IT gamers' magazine, Atomic.

And the winners were:

Category: IT User (Sponsored by Veritas)

CIO Enterprise Award

Winner: Malcolm Barnes, CIO, Komatsu

CIO Government Award

Winner Murali Sagi, IT director, NSW Judicial Commission

Government Department of the Year Award

Winner ATSIC

SMB Enterprise of the Year Award

Winner: The Marketing Department Group

Large Enterprise of the Year Award

Winner: Woolworths

Category: Hardware (Sponsored by AMD)

Desktops & Workstations Award

Winner: Dell

Notebook Computers Award

Winner: Toshiba

Servers Award

Winner: HP Australia

Voice & Data Networking Award

Winner: Cisco

Monitors Award

Winner: Sony

Printers Award

Winner: HP

Mobile Devices Award

Winner: Nokia

Storage Award

Winner: Seagate

Best Support & Service Award

Winner: Dell

Category: Software (Sponsored by Windows For Professionals Australia)

Application Development Tools Award

Winner: Microsoft

Middleware Award

Winner: Microsoft

Database Management Systems Award

Winner: Microsoft

BI and Data Warehousing Tools Award

Winner: Oracle

Network & Systems Management Award

Joint winners: HP and Sun Microsystems

Storage Management Award

Winner: Veritas

Security & Privacy Award

Winner: Symantec

CRM Award


ERP Award

Winner: SAP

Supply chain management Award

Winner: Oracle

Collaborative Award

Winner: Microsoft

Financial Software Award

Winner: MYOB

Operating Systems Award

Winner: Microsoft

Best Support & Service Award

Winner Microsoft

Category: Channel (Sponsored by SAP)

Distributor - Small Award

Winner: Altech

Distributor - Large Award

Winner: Tech Pacific

Reseller Award

Winner: Dimension Data

Retailer Award

Winner: Harris Technology

Telecommunications Reseller Award

Winner: Telstra

Developer Award

Winner: Powerlan

System Integrator Award

Winner: Dimension Data

ISP Award

Winner: Optus

Best Partnership Program Award

Winner: HP

Category: Services (Sponsored by DoubleClick)

Outsourcer Award

Winner: HP

Big 5 Consultants Award

Winner: Bearing Point Australia

IT Consultants Award

Winner: HP

Data Network Services Provider Award

Winner: Telstra

Category: Hall of Fame (Sponsored by Toshiba)

Inductees: Peter F Wilson and Lindsey Cattermole



Most Read Articles

Log In

Username / Email:
  |  Forgot your password?