NBN reveals HFC rollout areas

By on
NBN reveals HFC rollout areas

Construction map details three-year plan.

NBN has provided a detailed breakdown of which areas wiill get which of the network's multi-technology mix products over the next three years in a new construction plan.

The three-year plan includes the hybrid-fibre coaxial rollout for the first time, detailing the areas in which just under 3 million premises across Australia will receive the technology.

NBN had previously avoided providing a breakdown of which areas would get HFC services until construction planning was complete.

The network builder has promised to deliver its wholesale HFC product in 2016.

By late 2018, NBN expects more than 5.6 million premises will have a fibre-to-the-node, basement or premise connection; almost 3 million will be covered by HFC; and 540,000 premises will have fixed wireless services.

As of its most recent weekly progress report - ended last week [pdf] - NBN has passed 1.36 million premises, with 619,861 of those actively using the available service.

In its three-year construction plan, released today, premises in 17 regions were listed as being covered by fibre-to-the-premise, and 868 regions were slated for fibre-to-the-node. Around 221 areas will receive fixed wireless.

Continuing its scale-down of FTTP technology, only 17 specific towns are scheduled to receive solely fibre-to-the-premise connections under the new construction plan.

Another 79 towns will receive a mixture of both fibre-to-the-premise and fibre-to-the-node by 2018, according to the document.

NBN said by September 2018, construction for the network would be underway or passed for 2.8 million premises in NSW, 2.5 million premises in Victoria, and 1.9 million in Queensland.

Connections to around 970,000 homes and business will be underway in WA, 750,000 in SA, and 134,000 in the ACT.

NBN reiterated its pledge that Tasmania would become the first Australian state to be fully covered by the NBN before September 2018.

It is also expecting the NT to become the first territory to have all premises passed by the same date, with 72,000 properties left to go in the rollout.

In August the competition regulator gave the green light to Optus to transfer its HFC cable network to NBN, two months after similar approval was handed to Telstra for its copper and HFC networks.

NBN released its three-year corporate plan to 2018 in August.

It revealed a goal of having 9.1 million premises ready for service, 4.4 million activations, and $1.7 billion in annual revenue by FY18.

Around 20 percent of premises are slated to receive FTTP, 38 percent will receive FTTN/B, 34 percent HFC, and 5 percent and 3 percent will be on fixed wireless and satellite respectively under the multi-technology mix broadband network.

The corporate plan also revealed that NBN would blow its budget and require total funding of between $46 billion and $56 billion by 2018.

Who gets HFC?

A total of 219 regions are forecast to receive an HFC NBN connection before the end of 2018.


Areas include Ashfield, Balgowlah, Balmain, Bankstown, Baulkham Hills, Blacktown, Waverley, Botany, Burwood, Carlingford, Castle Hill, Chatswood, Como, Coogee, Carramar, Cremorne, City south, Dalley, Drummoyne, Dural, City east, Edgecliff, Engadine, Epping, Edensor Park, St Mary's, Glebe, Guildford, Harbord, Homebush, Hornsby, Hunters Hill, Hurstville, Minto, Killara, Kensington, Kogarah, Lakemba, Liverpool, Matraville, Menai, Miller, Miranda, Mona Vale, Mosman, Newtown, Orchard Hill, Peakhurst, Petersham, Pennant Hills, Pymble, Quakers Hill, Ramsgate, Eastwood, Redfern, Rockdale, Rose Bay, Rooty Hill, Ryde, Sefton, Seven Hills, Shalvey, Silverwater, Springwood, St Leonards, Undercliff, Wetherill Park, Northbridge and Wahroonga.

In Queensland:

Acacia Ridge, Albany Creek, Albion, Ashgrove, Cleveland, Aspley, Arundel, Ashmore, Bundamba, Beenleigh, Bald Hills, Browns Plains, Brassal, Burleigh Heads, Chermside, Charlotte, Chapel Hills, Capalaba, Camp Hill, Currumbin, Darra, Eight Mile, Ferny Hills, Inala, Ipswich, Loganholme, Mount Gravatt, Gold Coast-Tweed Heads, Merrimac, Nudgee, Paradise Point, Redcliffe, Rothwell, Springfield, Slacks Creek, Southport, Stephens, Sherwood, Salisbury, Surfers Paradise, Tingalpa, Toowong, Woolloongabba, Warner and Waterford.

In South Australia:

Brighton, Croydon Sa, Edwardston, Elizabeth, Flinders, Glenelg, Golden Grove, Gepps Cross, Glenunga, Henley Beach, Hampstead, Modbury, Norwood, Paradise, Reynella, Salisbury, and West Adelaide.

In Victoria:

Altona, Bayswater, Bundoora, Broadmeadows, Brighton, Blackburn, Bentleigh, Box Hill, Burwood, Canterbury, Caulfield, Coburg, Clayton, Croydon, Chelsea, Cheltenham, Collingwood, Dandenong, Dandenong North, Doncaster East, Deepdene, Deer Park, Eltham, Endeavour Hills, Exhibition, Fawkner, Ferntree Gully, Frankston, Footscray, Flemington, Greensborough, Glen Iris, Hawthorn, Heidelberg, Highett, Kew, Keysborough, Kings Park, Kellor, Kellor East, Kooyong, Lilydale, Lonsdale, Laverton, Maidstone, Mordialloc, Mitcham, Moreland, Melton, Mount Eliza, Montrose, Narre Warren, North Balwyn, Northcote, North Essendon, North Melbourne, Newport, Oakleigh, Port Melbourne, Richmond, Reservoir, Ringwood, Scoresby, Seaford, South Oakleigh, Springvale, Sunshine, South Yarra, Thornbury, Tarneit, Thomastown, Tally Ho, Werribee, Wheelers Hill, and Windsor.

In WA:

Applecross, Cottesloe, Ellenbrook, Girrawheen, Hamersley, Joondalup, Jandakot South, Kingsley, Mullaloo, South Perth (Como), Subiaco, and Wembley.

The full list of communities where work is scheduled to begin before September 2018 can be found here.

Got a news tip for our journalists? Share it with us anonymously here.
Copyright © iTnews.com.au . All rights reserved.

Most Read Articles

Log In

  |  Forgot your password?