ACS chooses new president, Argy to leave in January 2008

By on
ACS chooses new president, Argy to leave in January 2008

The Australian Computer Society has elected a new national president, after current president, Phillip Argy completes his two year term in early January 2008.

After presentations from candidates from around Australia, the Council has elected Kumar Parakala, as the 2008/2009 President.

During his term as President, Kumar Parakala said he plans to focus on skills, education and promoting ICT’s relevance to the business community.

“As ACS national president, I intend to drive relevant national ICT strategic matters that are critical to ICT professionals such as skills gap, ICT higher education, green issues, industry collaboration and accreditation. I will also focus on promoting the relevance of ICT to business professionals. This includes understanding the ubiquitous nature of ICT and highlighting ICT’s changing and enabling role across all professions,” Parakala said.

An ICT professional for 18 years, Kumar Parakala has worked in senior management roles within healthcare, professional services, manufacturing and the public sector. Kumar is the chief operating officer of KPMG’s Global IT Advisory Practice.

As an ACS member for almost a decade, Parakala has held the positions of National ACS vice president, branch executive committee member for Queensland and NSW, and NSW branch chairman.

Parakala formally takes over as ACS National President on 1 January 2008, after current President, Philip Argy, completes his two year term in the top role.

Most Read Articles

Log In

Username / Email:
  |  Forgot your password?