Government announces another NBN Inquiry

By on
Government announces another NBN Inquiry

Committee features 50 percent ALP Ministers, plus Oakeshott.

Infrastructure Minister Anthony Albanese today announced that the House of Representatives Standing Committee on Infrastructure and Communications would examine the economic and social benefits of the National Broadband Network (NBN).

"The NBN will change the way Australians live and work. It will drive economic growth and productivity and ensure Australia is at the forefront of the digital revolution," Albanese said.

"Affordable, high speed broadband via the NBN will have an impact on all aspects of our economy and society and the Committee will examine this."

The Committee planned to investigate how the NBN would contribute to:

  • the delivery of government services and programs
  • achieving health outcomes
  • improving the educational resources and training available for teachers and students
  • the management of Australia's built and natural resources and environmental sustainability
  • regional economic growth and employment
  • business efficiencies and revenues, particularly for small and medium business, and Australia's export market
  • research, development and innovation investments
  • facilitating community and social benefits
  • optimal capacity and technological requirements of a network to deliver these outcomes.

"The Gillard Government is committed to making sure all Australians, no matter where they live or work, can have access to the NBN," Albanese said.

The Standing Committee on Infrastructure and Communications was due to report back by August 2011.

It included eight members:

  • Ms Sharon Bird MP (Chair) (Australian Labor Party, Cunningham, NSW)
  • Mr Paul Neville MP (Deputy Chair) (The Nationals, Hinkler, Qld)
  • Mr Paul Fletcher MP (Liberal Party of Australia, Bradfield, NSW)
  • Mr Ed Husic MP (Australian Labor Party, Chifley, NSW)
  • Mr Stephen Jones MP (Australian Labor Party, Throsby, NSW)
  • Mr Rob Oakeshott MP (Independent, Lyne, NSW)
  • Mrs Jane Prentice MP (Liberal Party of Australia, Ryan, Qld)
  • Mr Mike Symon MP (Australian Labor Party, Deakin Vic)
Got a news tip for our journalists? Share it with us anonymously here.
Copyright © . All rights reserved.

Most Read Articles

Log In

  |  Forgot your password?