Incorporating feedback from users and experts received during the 30-day comment period, the proposed changes will allow control for the user of their data and if a profile is deleted, the website will not hold on to it and 'content shared with others may remain until they delete it'.
Changes to these policies caused uproar in February, when Facebook declared posting user content to any part of the site granted the company the right to use, copy, publicly display and distribute user content. Facebook said that if the new documents are approved, all future changes to the Statement of Rights and Responsibilities will go through the same process of notice and comment, and may be put to a vote if enough people comment.
Zuckerberg claimed that the vote will close at midnight PDT on April 23. He said: “We encourage you to participate and make your voice heard. For this vote and any future one, the results will be binding if at least 30 per cent of active Facebook users at the time that the vote was announced participate. An active user is someone who has logged in to the site in the past 30 days.”
Facebook said that if the new documents are approved, all future changes to the Statement of Rights and Responsibilities will go through the same process of notice and comment, and may be put to a vote if enough people comment.